Dalby Firewood Reviews

4.94 Rating 4,510 Reviews
99 %
of reviewers recommend Dalby Firewood
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier, Own Driver
Average Delivery Time
Next Day
On-time Delivery
99%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
98%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.92 out of 5
Highest On-Time Delivery in the Reviews.io Customer Voice Awards,  Summer 2020
Read Dalby Firewood Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

01653 668177

Location:

Middle House FarmLow Marishes

Write Your review

Tell us how Dalby Firewood made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Always happy with the service from Dalby. Just a shame that the selection of logs available is so limited at the moment.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Thank you for leaving us a review Adam. We are sorry that our stock is limited at the moment, however we are due to have more products in stock very soon! Please keep an eye on our website for regular updates in stock, and we do hope to hear from you in the near future!
Posted 1 week ago
Delivery was good, although I requested the wood to drop by the garage the delivery person said he could only drop the wood on the curb. After we had a discussion he agreed to drop the wood by the garage. The delivery note did state to be dropped by the garage.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Thank you for leaving us a review Elaine. As we use a third party delivery company, it s driver's discretion. We are sorry for any inconvenience caused, we do hope to hope to hear from you again in the near future.
Posted 1 week ago
The customer service was as good as ever. But I must say the wood size and cut was extremely random - the worst we have ever received which made it difficult to stack in the wood shed. There were some massive logs which we will need to cut down to get into our wood burner. As it was a Dalby Gold bag we expect m a more consistent product as it comes at a premium price.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Thank you for leaving us a review. As we deal with raw material, it is hard to guarantee log size. We hope this wasn't too difficult for you and we do thank you for your custom. We hope to hear from you again in the near future!
Posted 1 week ago
The quality of the logs on this recent delivery is no where near the usual good standard
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Thank you very much for speaking to us in regards to your comments Mr Dawson, we're glad that we could look into this further for you.
Posted 6 months ago
Not as good as the bags a lot off small mixed in I’ll go back to the bags
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Charcoal delivered this week, haven’t used yet and looks ok. Marked down as bag was damp and split when I removed packaging, spilling charcoal everywhere.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to eave us a review, it's great to hear you were happy with the charcoal. We're very sorry to hear this had been damaged in transit. We would never dispatch any inferior products and there is no possible way for the bag to get damp prior to dispatch. I can see from the tracking this had been signed for, should something like this ever happen again please be sure to contact us directly so we can look into this immediately for you!
Posted 1 year ago
I got two bags of ash, this year the pieces were very mixed. Some nicely cut into the pseudo triangle and stackable but so many were small pieces Of say 20% they were ugly lumps of wood without neat form. Totally unstackable neatly so just piled up anywhere. A poor lot compared to other years
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I’ve only ever ordered logs from Dalby and they have always been great, however this last order seems to be a lot of small, fast burning logs. Disappointed
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Thank you Mr Pratt for taking the time to leave us a review. I'm very sorry to hear that you haven't been as pleased with some of the logs in this delivery that you've received from us. I have been in touch directly regarding this.
Posted 1 year ago
I always have very good wood from Dalby, However this last delivery is far from satisfactory. It just doesn’t burn. I shall try again tomorrow and if the result is the same I will telephone on Monday.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Lyndsay Sorry that you are having difficulties. If the wood is not up to our usual high standard, we apologise and we will correct the situation. If you contact the office we can deal with the problem and try correct our mistake. Thats what makes us different from 3 star average companies.
Posted 1 year ago
Was not impressed with the delivery because it was a day later it would have been lovely for sometime to contact me and tell me it would be delivered the next day Yours Jason and Maxine Watson
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're really sorry on this occasion the delivery was not done on the correct day. As we explained to Mrs Watson the following morning when we arranged the redelivery; on the orignal date we were repeatedly told by the delivery company that your delivery would be as scheduled and had we been given any different information by the third party courier we would have let you know ASAP. Our apologies that we could not have let you know sooner and also that the delivery depot did not contact yourselves and let you know.
Posted 1 year ago
Very good service
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Thank you very much for leaving us a positive review!
Posted 1 year ago
The oak logs, which I used straight away, do not burn as good as previous deliveries. The bark has some moss on. Could this be the cause?
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
The quality of the wood is good. We paid for a 1 hour delivery slot but the delivery arrived 1.5 hours early and therefore nobody was available to accept the order. The order was placed down the drive but it then had to be moved by hand therefore the lower than expected rating.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Good Morning Mr Wallace, I have tried to contact yourself in regards to this if you could get back to me when you get chance it'd be much appreciated. I can't apologise enough for your timed delivery not being made on time, this was not something we had been made aware of by the delivery company, and I am looking into why this happened without contacting yourself or us. The delivery at the wrong time should not have been made without a signature or indeed to the wrong place. Had we known about this at the time we could have requested the driver go back and move it for you. I have sent you an email in regards to this also and as soon as I have any information from the delivery company I will of course let you know. Once again please accept my sincere apologies in regards to this, it is not standard procedure nor is is acceptable of the delivery company. Best Wishes Sabina
Posted 2 years ago
Processing and delivery good. I ordered 50/50 birch and oak, the mix was probably more 60/40 in favour of birch which was a little disappointing. I would prefer it the other way around but the service and quality can’t be beaten so it won’t stop me using Dalby.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Thanks for your review. We try to get this mix 50/50 but it is difficult to get it exact. Some customers do not like too much oak, some too much birch, but the product is sold as approximately 50/50 and this is what we aim at. Sorry that this isnt the case and we will look into this issue. We feel that a negative 3 star company review is a bit harsh as we were not even aware of the issue. it is just ben brought to our attention through this review. We can resolve issues if we know about them for future reference.
Posted 2 years ago
This is the second year that I've been buying exclusively from Dalby. In the past I've purchased 5 bags of the dried oak and birch bulk bag. I have been happy with the quality of the firewood until my latest delivery (5/10/18). The mixed bag seems to be predominantly oak. A large number of the oak logs appear to be of poor quality, I'm not sure on the correct term but the wood appears 'rotten' in any case it is very light, and burns quickly, not what you would normally expect from a good piece of oak?
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Paul Firstly, apologies if you have found the product not up to our usual standards, it is very difficult to get the mix exactly 50/50, but the oak is more expensive and a slower burner so hopefully this isn't too much of an issue. Regarding some of the oak being rotten, that is a problem. What makes us different form other companies is the way we deal with problems that may arise. If we are not aware of the issue, how can we correct or address the problem? When dealing with large volumes of a natural species, occasionally we get it wrong. I can assure you that we were not aware of this issue. We are very disappointed that you did not contact us so we could look into this problem. Instead you have decided just to rate us as a poor company without giving us the chance to rectify the situation. This method of notification does not give us a chance to correct and investigate the issue. Thank you for your previous custom and sorry that we have made a mistake on this occasion.
Posted 3 years ago
prompt delivery on the date agreed. The only downside is the delivery agent left the wood on the street out side our driveway because the driveway is gravelled. We had to find someone else to then move the wood onto our driveway/parking area. Appeared to be a pretty feeble excuse.
Dalby Firewood 3 star review on 2nd October 2018
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review. I'm pleased to hear that your delivery arrived on it's dedicated day and you're happy with the product you've received. In regards to your comments about the gravel delivery, as the delivery company use pallets trucks to move the pallet the wheels jam across gravel so unfortunately they physically cannot move pallets over gravel surface, when moving such large weights over uneven surfaces there is also a great chance the pallet will tip over. All of these details are described on our website as you go through the ordering process and in the T&C's that you must tick upon placing your order.
Posted 3 years ago
This is probably the wrong time to write this review as the ordered items have not yet appeared. They were ordered on the 2/8/18, money taken from account but as yet no delivery date notified.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Our sincere apologies for this mistake Mr Holland. Your order has been accidentally placed in a run which has been requested for W/c Mon 13th This is why this has not yet been delivered or scheduled. This review has brought the issue to our attention. We can deal with any queries or issues much faster with a phone call or email as reviews take time to filter through. We will be in touch today.
Posted 3 years ago
As always the delivery service was brilliant but this time (our fourth order) we were somewhat disappointed at the quality of the wood. This was an Ash extra dry gold pallet which we took instead of our normal bulk bag due to the summer discount offer. Unfortunately we found the quality of the wood not as good as previously and the log sizes very inconsistent from thin slivers to large chunks a few even with branch stubs left on. This made stacking quite difficult. The wood was also extremely dirty which is very unusual and a small proportion of the wood appears not to be ash, more like birch. I’m sure it will all burn well as it was very dry. We have been very satisfied before and I hate giving less than 5 star reviews but this order simply was not up to normal standards.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Anne, Thanks for the review. Sorry that you are not entirely happy with the product. Not all the logs are exactly the same size in the crates. This is impossible. Some logs are bigger than others and we do stack smaller pieces in the crates as they are used when you first light the fire. We have had complaints in the past that the logs have been too consistent and that there are no smaller pieces to start the fire with. It is very difficult to make every log the same size when we are dealing with a natural product. The log sizes vary dependant on the tree sizes. I hope that the product still burns up to its usual standards and that you continue to use our services.
Posted 3 years ago
Ordering process and delivery excellent. The crate of mixed birch and oak was closely stacked and filled to the top of the crate. The size of the logs is perfect. However, the mix of birch and oak is uneven: there are three or four birch logs to each oak one. The ratio of the mix was not made clear on the website.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Thank you for your review Mr Chalk. We're pleased to hear you were happy with the ordering process and the smooth delivery. In regards to your comments about the Oak & Birch Mix, the Birch is thinner cut used to start the fire with (Birch's bark is a natural firelighter) which is why there are slightly more pieces, and the Oak is a very slow burner, a thicker cut log to add once the fire has started; but we will look into this ratio for you.
Posted 3 years ago
The logs, chopping block and tinder are perfect - just a shame everything arrived a day late...
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review Mr Barlow. We're pleased to hear your happy with the product. Although we would like to apologise again due to the late delivery, as you were informed on the scheduled delivery day this was due to a vehicle breakdown from our 3rd Party Delivery company and unfortunately despite our best efforts your delivery could not be made. We're sorry for any inconvenience and hope this doesn't affect your custom.
Posted 4 years ago
Dalby Firewood is rated 4.94 based on 4,510 reviews