Dalby Firewood Reviews

4.92 Rating 2,331 Reviews
99% of reviewers recommend Dalby Firewood

Write Your review

Tell us how Dalby Firewood made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Shipping & delivery
delivery methods
Courier, Own Driver
average delivery time
Next Day
on-time delivery
99%
accurate and undamaged orders
98%
Customer Service
communication channels
Telephone, Email
queries resolved in
Under an hour
customer service
4.90 out of 5
5
Bob West
"Great service, delivered on time , good selection of logs. Will definitely use again."
Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
4
Adrian Mansell
"Prompt service and delivery Guys we’re very polite and put goods in correct location We have used you many times but this time the Logs were small and a lot of little pieces made the loads Normally it would take just over two bulk bags to fill our log store but this time we had three bulk bags and we still have space in the store which is due to the small size of the logs Hopefully a one off guys but I’ll be keeping an eye on any future loads"
Report
Posted 1 month ago
Tony Lomas
"Great fire wood easy process to order .arrived on time great price"
Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Very good service"
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Visit Website
"The oak logs, which I used straight away, do not burn as good as previous deliveries. The bark has some moss on. Could this be the cause?"
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
"The quality of the wood is good. We paid for a 1 hour delivery slot but the delivery arrived 1.5 hours early and therefore nobody was available to accept the order. The order was placed down the drive but it then had to be moved by hand therefore the lower than expected rating."
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Good Morning Mr Wallace, I have tried to contact yourself in regards to this if you could get back to me when you get chance it'd be much appreciated.

I can't apologise enough for your timed delivery not being made on time, this was not something we had been made aware of by the delivery company, and I am looking into why this happened without contacting yourself or us. The delivery at the wrong time should not have been made without a signature or indeed to the wrong place. Had we known about this at the time we could have requested the driver go back and move it for you.
I have sent you an email in regards to this also and as soon as I have any information from the delivery company I will of course let you know.

Once again please accept my sincere apologies in regards to this, it is not standard procedure nor is is acceptable of the delivery company.
Best Wishes
Sabina
Posted 8 months ago
"Processing and delivery good. I ordered 50/50 birch and oak, the mix was probably more 60/40 in favour of birch which was a little disappointing. I would prefer it the other way around but the service and quality can’t be beaten so it won’t stop me using Dalby."
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Hi

Thanks for your review. We try to get this mix 50/50 but it is difficult to get it exact. Some customers do not like too much oak, some too much birch, but the product is sold as approximately 50/50 and this is what we aim at. Sorry that this isnt the case and we will look into this issue.
We feel that a negative 3 star company review is a bit harsh as we were not even aware of the issue. it is just ben brought to our attention through this review. We can resolve issues if we know about them for future reference.
Posted 11 months ago
"This is the second year that I've been buying exclusively from Dalby. In the past I've purchased 5 bags of the dried oak and birch bulk bag. I have been happy with the quality of the firewood until my latest delivery (5/10/18). The mixed bag seems to be predominantly oak. A large number of the oak logs appear to be of poor quality, I'm not sure on the correct term but the wood appears 'rotten' in any case it is very light, and burns quickly, not what you would normally expect from a good piece of oak?"
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Paul

Firstly, apologies if you have found the product not up to our usual standards, it is very difficult to get the mix exactly 50/50, but the oak is more expensive and a slower burner so hopefully this isn't too much of an issue.
Regarding some of the oak being rotten, that is a problem.

What makes us different form other companies is the way we deal with problems that may arise. If we are not aware of the issue, how can we correct or address the problem? When dealing with large volumes of a natural species, occasionally we get it wrong. I can assure you that we were not aware of this issue.
We are very disappointed that you did not contact us so we could look into this problem. Instead you have decided just to rate us as a poor company without giving us the chance to rectify the situation. This method of notification does not give us a chance to correct and investigate the issue.
Thank you for your previous custom and sorry that we have made a mistake on this occasion.
Posted 11 months ago
"prompt delivery on the date agreed. The only downside is the delivery agent left the wood on the street out side our driveway because the driveway is gravelled. We had to find someone else to then move the wood onto our driveway/parking area. Appeared to be a pretty feeble excuse."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review. I'm pleased to hear that your delivery arrived on it's dedicated day and you're happy with the product you've received.

In regards to your comments about the gravel delivery, as the delivery company use pallets trucks to move the pallet the wheels jam across gravel so unfortunately they physically cannot move pallets over gravel surface, when moving such large weights over uneven surfaces there is also a great chance the pallet will tip over.
All of these details are described on our website as you go through the ordering process and in the T&C's that you must tick upon placing your order.
Posted 1 year ago
"This is probably the wrong time to write this review as the ordered items have not yet appeared. They were ordered on the 2/8/18, money taken from account but as yet no delivery date notified."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Our sincere apologies for this mistake Mr Holland. Your order has been accidentally placed in a run which has been requested for W/c Mon 13th This is why this has not yet been delivered or scheduled. This review has brought the issue to our attention. We can deal with any queries or issues much faster with a phone call or email as reviews take time to filter through. We will be in touch today.
Posted 1 year ago
"As always the delivery service was brilliant but this time (our fourth order) we were somewhat disappointed at the quality of the wood. This was an Ash extra dry gold pallet which we took instead of our normal bulk bag due to the summer discount offer. Unfortunately we found the quality of the wood not as good as previously and the log sizes very inconsistent from thin slivers to large chunks a few even with branch stubs left on. This made stacking quite difficult. The wood was also extremely dirty which is very unusual and a small proportion of the wood appears not to be ash, more like birch. I’m sure it will all burn well as it was very dry. We have been very satisfied before and I hate giving less than 5 star reviews but this order simply was not up to normal standards."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Anne, Thanks for the review. Sorry that you are not entirely happy with the product. Not all the logs are exactly the same size in the crates. This is impossible. Some logs are bigger than others and we do stack smaller pieces in the crates as they are used when you first light the fire. We have had complaints in the past that the logs have been too consistent and that there are no smaller pieces to start the fire with. It is very difficult to make every log the same size when we are dealing with a natural product. The log sizes vary dependant on the tree sizes. I hope that the product still burns up to its usual standards and that you continue to use our services.
Posted 1 year ago
"Ordering process and delivery excellent. The crate of mixed birch and oak was closely stacked and filled to the top of the crate. The size of the logs is perfect. However, the mix of birch and oak is uneven: there are three or four birch logs to each oak one. The ratio of the mix was not made clear on the website."
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Thank you for your review Mr Chalk. We're pleased to hear you were happy with the ordering process and the smooth delivery. In regards to your comments about the Oak & Birch Mix, the Birch is thinner cut used to start the fire with (Birch's bark is a natural firelighter) which is why there are slightly more pieces, and the Oak is a very slow burner, a thicker cut log to add once the fire has started; but we will look into this ratio for you.
Posted 1 year ago
"The logs, chopping block and tinder are perfect - just a shame everything arrived a day late..."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review Mr Barlow. We're pleased to hear your happy with the product. Although we would like to apologise again due to the late delivery, as you were informed on the scheduled delivery day this was due to a vehicle breakdown from our 3rd Party Delivery company and unfortunately despite our best efforts your delivery could not be made. We're sorry for any inconvenience and hope this doesn't affect your custom.
Posted 2 years ago
"Cannot fault Dalbys customer service at all. Delivery was made when specified. However this is our third order from Dalby and we are sorry to say that the wood has not burnt as well or has produced as much heat as the previous two orders."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Thank you very much for your review Wendy. We're sorry to have not received a perfect review from you this time, as you changed product from the Kiln-Dried Ash to the Seasoned Hardwood the products will burn a little differently. We hope to hear from you again soon
Posted 2 years ago
"Delivery on time and competent delivery driver. The pallet was not closely stacked, and some of the wood was starting to rot, before it was dried. I know I can buy a more densely packed crate of better quality wood from other suppliers. I will not choose Dalby again."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Sorry to here you are not satisfied with the product. If you had informed us regarding this matter we would have done something about this issue. We have stringent quality checks in place and value customer satisfaction as our highest priority. 1 phone call and a photograph of the crate and we would have replace this free of charge.
Posted 2 years ago
"Quality wood and, once contacted and delivery organised (not within 5 days - took almost 3 weeks) happy with service."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
"The wood was well packed in good box and is of good quality. The only complaint I have is that it did not arrive on the stated delivery day but turned up the day after without any warning. It was by pure chance that I was unexpectedly at home that day! The driver couldn't transfer the box to where I wanted so then had to spend the rest of the unpacking the box so that we could get vehicles of the drive. If we had been telephoned as promised to arrange another delivery day then this would not have happened, so we probably not be ordering again."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Sorry to hear you delivery did not turn up on the requested day. Our third party delivery company should have informed you of this.
Regarding the placement of the crate, this can only be left where it is humanly possible.
Posted 3 years ago
"The quality of the wood was excellent - however this was tinged with the fact that you did not turn up on time. And had to be chased…could I suggest that you seek to improve your delivery times or at the very least communication"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Thank you for your comments Mr Mansell. The breakdown we had could not be helped, but our communication on the matter was poor. Please accept our sincere apologies on this matter, and thank you for your custom.
Regards

The Dalby Firewood Team
Posted 4 years ago
"Excellent service but pricy compared to other suppliers"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
"The quality of the Logs are excellent. Make sure you order well in advance and get a delivery date though."
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Dalby Firewood is rated 4.92 based on 2,331 reviews