Dalby Firewood Reviews

4.92 Rating 2,331 Reviews
99% of reviewers recommend Dalby Firewood

Write Your review

Tell us how Dalby Firewood made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
Shipping & delivery
delivery methods
Courier, Own Driver
average delivery time
Next Day
on-time delivery
99%
accurate and undamaged orders
98%
Customer Service
communication channels
Telephone, Email
queries resolved in
Under an hour
customer service
4.90 out of 5
5
Bob West
"Great service, delivered on time , good selection of logs. Will definitely use again."
Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
4
Adrian Mansell
"Prompt service and delivery Guys we’re very polite and put goods in correct location We have used you many times but this time the Logs were small and a lot of little pieces made the loads Normally it would take just over two bulk bags to fill our log store but this time we had three bulk bags and we still have space in the store which is due to the small size of the logs Hopefully a one off guys but I’ll be keeping an eye on any future loads"
Report
Posted 1 month ago
Tony Lomas
"Great fire wood easy process to order .arrived on time great price"
Report
Posted 1 month ago
"Always reliable and nice dry logs, not the cheapest but probably as good as you can get."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
Visit Website
"Can’t fault the quality of the logs supplied but I thought they were a little on the expensive side if I’m honest. Excellent communication & delivery with jogs shrink wrapped too. The only disappointment was being left with two large wooden pallets to get rid of after delivery, never had that before as logs are in a dump bag too. However, excellent quality logs so will use again."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Thank you for leaving us a positive review. I'm really pleased to hear that you were happy with the communication you received and delivery.
As we discussed during our email exchange, the pallets are Kin Dried and suitable to break down to use as Kindling, the Bulk Bags are clearly shown on the website and are also recyclable with your local recycling.
It's great to hear you were happy with the quality and I'm pleased that you were happy with our email explanation in regards to the pallets. We look forward to hearing from you again in the future.
Posted 2 weeks ago
"Prompt service and delivery Guys we’re very polite and put goods in correct location We have used you many times but this time the Logs were small and a lot of little pieces made the loads Normally it would take just over two bulk bags to fill our log store but this time we had three bulk bags and we still have space in the store which is due to the small size of the logs Hopefully a one off guys but I’ll be keeping an eye on any future loads"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Many thanks Mr Mansell for taking the time to leave us a positive review, we really appreciate the feedback.
I've added a note to your customer account in regards to the thickness of your future orders. Our standard cut does have some smaller pieces within the mix for ease of lighting as requested in our customer feedback, and as I'm sure you can appreciate we cannot guarantee the same size log every-time due to it being a natural product.
I'm really pleased that you were happy with our delivery service and we look forward to hearing from you in the future.
Posted 3 weeks ago
"The ordering procedure was efficient. I was impressed with the way the logs were stacked in the crate. Delivery was fine but quite late in the day (about 4.30pm) It would certainly help if (say) a 2/3 hour delivery slot could be advised to customers so that one does not have to stay in all day"
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a positive review, we really appreciate the feedback and it's wonderful to hear that you were impressed with the products you received.
We are able to offer timed delivery slots although these do incur small delivery charges. The free delivery is an all day delivery service and at the moment our third party courier are unable to offer ETA's, this is something we are looking into and hope to be able to offer it in the future.
We are able to make deliveries without you being present for delivery, as long as we have permission and instructions on doing so.
Many thanks again for your positive feedback and we look forward to hearing from you again.
Posted 1 month ago
"I give a rating of 'Good' because I have not actually tried the wood yet (it was delivered end of July. So this review reflects my experience of ordering and delivery. Very easy to understand website, and the order process was simple. The wood arrived promptly om the pre-arranged delivery date and left on my drive way. The logs are in a large 'canvas bag' stacked on a small pallet, and then covered to protect from the elements. There was no damage to the block paving, so very happy."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Thank you very much Nick for taking the time to leave us a positive review! We're really pleased to know that you were happy with the service you received and found the website easy to navigate! Once the cold weather arrives we're sure you'll be just as happy with the logs you received too.
Posted 1 month ago
"Problem with the order sorted quickly and with no hassle for me."
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Thank you very much Chris for leaving us a positive review, we're really pleased that you were impressed with the charcoal you received and happy with our resolving the small delay in delivery.
Posted 2 months ago
"Looks great"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Many thanks Mr Thornton! We look forward to hearing from you again
Posted 3 months ago
"Dubious about booking it, as it is Expensive compared to others but Excellent wood, the presentation in a crate means it’s can be easily delivered and easily stored. Excellent service - next time I will book a slot."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Thank you very much Mr Dawkins we're really pleased to hear that you were impressed with your delivery and quality of our products. We do put quality first and this is something that is very important to us. We look forward to hearing from you for your next order.
Posted 3 months ago
"Quite clean and dry enough to burn, some pieces were odd shaped."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Thank you veyr much for leaving us a 5* review, all our products carry the Woodsure 'Ready to Burn' accreditation and are well below industry standard moisture content. We look forward to hearing from you again
Posted 3 months ago
"Very straight forward to order and we were kept informed well regarding delivery. Good quality logs, only problem was a few of the logs were a bit too big for the stove, overall we were very satisfied with the service."
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Thank you John for leaving us a positive review it's really great to hear that you were happy with the delivery and service you received, sorry to hear that a couple of the logs were a little too big but we're pleased you were satisfied with the order.
Posted 3 months ago
"good service though delivery took a while"
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Thank you for leaving us a positive review Mr Jenkins, we really appreciate it and we're happy to hear that you're pleased with the products you've received. Sorry to hear that your parcel delivery was a working day late - we're looking into why this happened please accept our apologies regarding this.
Posted 3 months ago
"Delivered on time. Looks good yet to burn but pleased with buy One or two lthe ogs doublesize ,not fully split in 2 bags. Fair price for kiln dried logs"
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Thank you very much Steve for leaving us a positive review. We're really pleased to hear you were happy with the delivery and we're sure you'll be happy with the logs when you start to burn them.
We look forward to hearing from you again.
Posted 3 months ago
"My delivery of Dalby firewood oak and birch is a quality well seasoned product. It is however very expensive. There were 12 wheelbarrows of logs to transport to my shed; these cost me £240.00. My last delivery of 6 wheelbarrow loads cost me £85.00. I am buying firewood from a different supplier every time I need it, so that I can eventually write a review and comparison of all firewood suppliers to North Yorkshire. What worries me is that there seems to be no regulation about how much can be charged and loads come in many different forms to further confuse the issue. In France for example one will be given a price for a stacked cubic metre and at the moment this will cost between 70 and 85 euros. Just for the record my delivery from Dalby firewood was approximately 1.5 stacked cubic metres. My review should be available about this time next year when all suppliers will be put in order value and quality. Thank you for a good quality product."
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Paul

Thank you for your very descriptive review and we are happy you are pleased with the firewood. I hope this response answers your queries.

Firstly the product you received was kiln dried and not seasoned as you suggested. Kiln dried firewood is more expensive than naturally seasoned because of the processes involved an also dryer regarding moisture content. This in turn has a higher calorific value, so you get 'more burn for your buck'

Regarding the amounts received in comparison to other companies, were you made aware of species, moisture content and sustainability? These factors are all important and add to the cost. Some suppliers sell cheaper less calorific species in order to gain higher profit margins.
Also our firewood is Woodsure Ready to Burn accredited which means the products are traceable, replanted and are all tested for moisture content. Again this is detrimental to the environment but does increase costs.
Regarding volume, we state on all the product pages the loose volume of firewood on the bulk bags and also the stacked volume on the crates so you are fully aware of the amount received. Also you are correct our crates hold a stacked volume of 1.5m3 (loose volume 2m3)
We are aware of cheaper alternatives, but are they really cheaper? You might receive more volume of wood, but is it the correct species and moisture content and is it sustainable?
Also our delivery system with notifications of delivery day and time has another impact on price.
I hope this answers a few queries and i look forward to reading your results from other suppliers.
Thank you once again for taking time to leave a very constructive review and we hope to hear from you again soon.
Joe,
Director
Posted 6 months ago
"Friendly, professional, competitive and great quality wood - many thanks. Adrian Bury"
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Thank you very much Adrian for taking the time to leave us a positive review, we really appreciate it! Great to hear that you're happy with the products and service
Posted 5 months ago
"Good logs, burns HOT and clean and delivered on time"
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Thanks very much David, we're pleased to hear you're happy with your order!
Posted 6 months ago
"The logs are good value, and the delivery is prompt, but I hadn't expected to be left with a wooden pallet to deal with, I can't chop it, and it won't fit in my car for the dump. Awkward."
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Thank you for your review Mrs Durkin.The delivery information clearly states that delivery to your address is a pallet delivery. You also ticked the checkbox to confirm that you read and understood the delivery information.
Sorry if this is inconvenient for you and thank you for taking time to review.
Posted 7 months ago
"Great wood and service although the pallet was left in front of the garage and not to the side as requested. Thanks Mark"
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Thanks very much Mark for leaving us a positive review, we really appreciate it and we're pleased to hear that you're happy with the quality of product and service.
I'm sorry to hear the pallet was not left to the side of your garage, we will mention this to the delivery company and ensure it does not happy again! Apologies for any inconvenience and we look forward to hearing from you again in the future.
Posted 7 months ago
"The crate of wood arrived within the very broad time slot given but it would be very helpful if the time given could at least be before 1pm or after. Having to wait all day is a waste of my time. When I unpacked the crate, there were a lot of very small logs(branch wood), hidden in the middle of the surrounding split logs which indicates they were not meant to show on the outside-a bit sneaky and they burn far too quickly."
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Thanks very much Mr Hann for taking the time to leave us a positive review, we really appreciate the feedback.
In regards to your comments about the delivery times, the standard free crate delivery is an all day delivery between 8.30am-5.30pm we cover this cost for our customers, we can offer timed slots but these do incur a small delivery charges. I noticed you've had Bulk Bag deliveries from us before, we are able to be more specific with these delivery times as they're done by our own vehicles rather than through the pallet network.

The Hornbeam is a fantastic product, putting out high temperatures with slow burn times, we aware that there is branch wood in the crate. This is due to the nature of the species Hornbeam is a branchy/narrow tree - and if we split those branches the logs would be very thin!
Hope this answers your questions, we look forward to hearing from you again soon.
Posted 7 months ago
"Iampleased with the quality of the wood and a very considerate driver brought the pallet to where it was actually most convenient for me to take the wood onto my property and stack it. Not easy."
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Thank you very much rosemary we're really pleased to hear that you were happy with your delivery and that it was delivered to a convenient place for you!
Posted 7 months ago
"My stove has not yet been installed (it's coming tomorrow) so I have not yet burned any wood However, from experience I can tell it's likely to perform very well. Most impressive was the courtesy and helpfulness of your driver who offered to place the pallet exactly where it was most useful to me. It saved me a lot of hard work."
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Many thanks Rosemary for taking the time to leave us a positive review, we really appreciate it. We're so pleased to hear that your delivery driver was helpful and your crate delivered where you wanted it. We look forward to hearing from you again in the future for your second order!
Posted 7 months ago
Dalby Firewood is rated 4.92 based on 2,331 reviews